When Rebellion Drives Bad Habits

In a previous post, The Turning Circle of Life, I mentioned the arguments I had with my dad many moons ago when he was teaching me to drive.  One of those arguments was about putting the car into gear when parking.  I was a rebellious teenager, and many of my rebellions were pointless and senseless, but I was also stubborn.  I persisted with parking the car in neutral and it finally became a habit lasting many years until one day in 2001…

I was married, had a lovely little house on a hill overlooking a reserve and had just had my third child.  I was on my usual afternoon taxi run picking up my young son from soccer training and my little girl from dance class with my newborn strapped in her capsule in the backseat.

It was winter,  the sun had set early and it was very cold and dark.  My husband was waiting for me to arrive so he could go to his evening job and I was running a little late so I parked the car at the top of our steep driveway, told the older kids to go inside and took the capsule out of the car.  I left the car running for my husband and went inside.

“Where did you park the car?” asked hubby from the front door. “Right in front of you.” I replied.  He came inside and said “Well, it’s not there!”

I ran outside and couldn’t see the car anywhere.  I panicked and immediately thought the car had been stolen and called the police to report it.

While we waited for the police to arrive, we got a knock on our front door.  It was a gentleman who had been driving down our street when he saw a car roll out of our driveway and into the Reserve across the road.  I started to feel sick.

We ran across the road into the pure darkness. The reserve was very big and had a dam in the centre.  My husband grabbed a torch and headed down to the dam expecting to find our Sonata in the water.  Just as he found the car stuck in the reeds, the police turned up.

My husband had taken over from my father in hassling me about parking in neutral and he was more than happy to watch the Officer lecture me on how dangerous the situation could have been.   I stood there with a red face, nodding and feeling very stupid.

I was extremely lucky.  So much could have gone wrong, the car could have rolled into another on the road, it could have killed someone walking their dog in the reserve.  I got off lightly with a few minor scratches on the Sonata and a lecture from a smirking policeman.

So, What is The Moral of this Humiliating Story?

Keeping a bad habit to spite others can really come back to bite you on the butt!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

